IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Sunset, crescent moon

A pleasantly ordinary day. Monday morning yoga class in Baconsthorpe Village Hall; quite a pretty little hall but it has a chilly floor. Elaine didn’t make us work too hard and gave us a range of options for those of us who couldn’t manage the classic asana. I love the morning sun, but performing a salute to it is rather a challenging palaver these days.
We have visitors coming at the weekend and so I spent an hour or two cleaning and freshening up the converted barn adjoining the house used to be my work room till three months ago) where my brother Steve and sister-in-law Lis will be staying.
In the late afternoon sun, I enjoyed an hour or so in the front garden where I have a little permaculture project of sorts in progress. There’s a rather unpromising clayey and stony patch of grass alongside the garden path that I am hoping to transform, inspired by memories of the coast of County Kerry. I have laid down a thick layer of cardboard with a layer of horse muck on top of that, and a mulch of wood chips and leaf mould on the surface. Hopefully it will decompose and rot down, smothering the grass and enriching the soil. Time will tell! I have planted wild fuchsia and montbretia through holes in the cardboard and they are bedding in nicely so far.
It was already getting dark around half past four when Hanne Lene pointed out that there was a striking sunset and a crescent moon. Getting the photo of it involved clambering onto a desk, moving a laptop computer, opening the window and leaning out a little perilously. The things we find ourselves getting up to for the sake of a blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.