Marionb

By Marionb

Another Work in Progress...

Well, at last I did it! I finally started that Kaffe Fassett Blues quilt...and the sewing room is in chaos again! 

Not an easy task, starting a quilt. Takes much forethought..hours of browsing through a library of quilt books....seeking inspiration... thinking...  envisioning... with a cup of coffee or perhaps a glass of wine.... followed by days and even weeks of pulling fabrics from the shelves...sorting them, grouping them, tossing some out, finding replacements...exhausting...such hard work and SO frustrating...

Best to take some days off and go back to browsing through all those books again, re-thinking, re-envisioning...with a coffee or a couple glasses of wine - and some very tasty snacks ...in front of the fire...until the day inspiration finally hits and a decision is made...

In this case, at last, the decision is ...Medallion Quilt.. and the search is on for a medallion quilt pattern that has the same aspect ratio needed to fit onto my living room wall..which of course is not possible; there is no such thing. And so begins the math... and the need for chocolate. 

It is the math stage that hastens the start of quilt-making for me. I don't have the patience for all that mathematical adapting of a pattern... so once I have the basic shape calculated, I usually just forge ahead and ad-lib the rest...which is where I am at with the blue quilt...the ad-lib stage.

The medallion and two of its "calculated" borders are completed and pressed onto my felt quilt wall..temporarily of course..nothing is sewn. Too scary to commit at this early stage.  I have no idea where I am going from here.  I would like to try some different patterns of blocks in each border but of course that would require some more math calculations ...but what the heck? If none of my block ideas work, I can just keep adding straight borders of pretty blue fabrics until it reaches the required 72 inch width and length. Easy peasy. 

Famous last words...of which I do not want to be reminded later.

Wish me luck...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.