Stokketjie

By Stokketjie

Have Mercy

Mercy is a Community Wildlife Ambassador living on the edge of one of the Game Reserves, supported by the conservation organisation I work for. She nonchalantly cycled into camp this morning ready for the weeks’ patrols. The ride is pretty far on single track paths. Yesterday, we concluded a 3 day patrol in the forest (on foot) which she was a part of too. As only one of two women on that patrol, her task was to carry all the kitchen equipment for the camp which she did with grace (the other woman ended up doing most of the cooking and is also the store keeper and a kickass ranger). I was fumbling over my feet and waving forest brush out if my way just carrying a backpack, but Mercy somehow elegantly moved through literally carrying the kitchen sink on her head as well as her pack. My colleague tried to convince the patrol leader to share the load among the team but it fell on deaf ears. Eventually he took the load himself for most of the patrol but when I saw her again this morning we shared stories of how he won’t be there this time to help share the load. Strength to you Mercy. You rock! Plus, I love your bicycle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.