Snap, crackle, and pop

By marking_time

So, so

An impromptu trip into Bellac today led us into Lidl. I have long said that should we ever find one of their cheap sewing machines, we should buy it. Often advertised but rarely seen, I have been turning my attention instead to the local charity shop. Today however, there were 4 on the shelf and not even their own brand, but a proper branded one. They had not been advertised in the catalogue. I bit the bullet.

Sewing and I have an uneasy relationship. It is not a craft that I enjoy, having had an early and unhappy start at school. Being sandwiched between an "I know best" mother and a similar and tyrannical teacher, I spent most of my lesson time in unpicking my homework. Bitter tears were wept, time and again.

When our 18th birthday rolled around, my sister and I received sewing machines as gifts from our parents. Although both disappointed and midly annoyed at this, I used mine for some years, never with any joy but I did turn out some complex garments, initially for myself and later for my children. I can sew, if I have to but am not one to volunteer and would far rather be knitting.

When we sold up our belongings in order to travel and live in a van, the sewing machine found a new home, since then and whilst we have been in this house, I have been without.

I have no real ambition towards dress making now but simply want to be able to effect repairs and run up a few soft furnishings. I might go so far as to make a few simple t-shirt tops to go with my sari skirts but nothing more ambitious than that. My first task is to shorten some jeans for the gorgeous, though short legged Mr L.

We need to go shopping again so that I can buy thread.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.