Dog Teaser

Whilst I have spent the most part of the day playing like a big kid with silk ties and boiled eggs, the dogs have been sitting at the window going mental because this pheasant has been patrolling up and down the fence line.
It's hard for dogs, that are trained to flush them, to see it tease them. Cocoa is determined to retrieve it. He's more than capable of jumping over the two foot fence! I've left them, eyes trained on the bird who is very aware they are behind the glass, letting them out only when I can supervise them. The pheasant is flushed into the air every time I let the mutts out, but is back again as soon as they return indoors. From time to time he looks over to another male on the other side of the field, raises up and flaps his wings at it. It's not a friendly gesture.


This is the time of year when the males look for their own territories. The weakest in the pecking order often end up with the roads, which are the only space left for them. I hear cars honking at them as they speed along, often far too fast. I'm afraid a pheasant hasn't got a clue what a horn is and is as likely to budge as I am to get a holiday on the moon this summer. The birds may not have much in the way of brains but those that run them over in their quest for speed through countryside roads, probably have a lower IQ. A dog or a child has as much chance as a pheasant stepping out onto these roads!

Early blip this evening. Off to scrub up for a friends birthday party. I may have a sore head in the morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.