Not just Rebecca

I am on a read/re-read of Daphne du Maurier. I knew she had written a lot of books, although many people only know her for 'Rebecca', but I had not realised quite how many she wrote. These are just a few that I have gathered - from my shelves or acquired second-hand ('Frenchman's Creek' is a lovely edition that I have borrowed from my daughter. 

Some I have read, but a long time ago and some I had not even heard of. I read Margaret Forster's biography a while back and am enjoying a re-read of it. 

This is quite a change from the Prize List books I have been reading over the last few months, but I am enjoying the change. Daphne du Maurier was one of those female authors who, although very popular, was dismissed by critics, mainly because she was female. It was only years later that people began to appreciate what a good writer she was. (Did you know that she wrote the short story 'The Birds' on which the film was based. Similarly 'Don't Look Now'. Her short stories are excellent and worth looking out for.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.