"Teachers are the one and only people who save nations." - Mustafa Kemal Atatürk

Today, 10th November, is deeply significant for Turks as the day that Atatürk, "Father of the nation" passed away.  I didn't attend the school ceremony, but I did hear the sirens mourning his last breath at 9.05. 

For me, a much quieter day than I've had recently - for which I am grateful cos it's been rather hectic for the last six days. Instead, I spent the afternoon at school, talking with friends, and afterwards, Deniz, Mercan and I went for dinner at Harvard Cafe where the fettuccine with mushrooms in creamy truffle sauce was a bowl sent from heaven.

Originally intending to return home tomorrow, I've decided to stay in Istanbul a few extra days, for various reasons. 

Photo taken from the car as we drove to the cafe for dinner.

Mustafa Kemal Atatürk was a Turkish field marshal, revolutionary statesman, author, and the founding father of the Republic of Turkey,  serving as its first president from 1923 until his death in 1938. He undertook sweeping progressive reforms, which modernized Turkey into a secular, industrializing nation. Due to his military and political accomplishments, Atatürk is regarded as one of the most important political leaders of the 20th century. Wikipedia

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.