lovingSutton

By amandoAlentejo

Sabbath Stables

Disused stables at Mitchells (NOT The Mitchell Centre anymore, apparently) on Weeford Road. Had the salmon omelette for the THIRD time - it is delicious and have learnt that I can make it affordable by splitting it with someone else, and still have room to share a slice of their banoffee cheesecake, which is perfection on a plate.

My eldest and I walked there through flurries of snow and bursts of sunshine to look for flowers for the headdress my husband is making for her wedding.

I remember when this place was called The Hungry Horse, and there were horses in these stables. Sort of reminds me that today we remember when The Tomb had Someone in it. In our Common Prayer this morning, we read the words of an ancient homily: "...there is a great silence on earth today, a great silence and stillness. The whole earth keeps silence because the King is asleep."

Sadly, I'm not sure there is much silence or stillness around anymore on ANY day of the year, but I wish for you special folk who are blippers as much of those qualities as possible on this Holy Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.