a lifetime burning

By Sheol

I used to have that haircut ...

Wild Wednesday:  Crested Grebe

Its been another dark rather dull day - but I decided to go exploring the Somerset levels as I've been promising myself that I would and its only 25 odd miles away although that converts to nearly 90 minutes away in the car.

Once upon a time, pre covid lockdown, when trips to the barber every 3 weeks were a matter of long established tradition, I had a haircut not dissimilar to this Great Crested Grebe (with its Winter plumage).  Nowadays I'm considerably more hirsute!

Its been quite an entertaining day on the bird watching front.  I spotted and got some shots of a female marsh harrier, although too far away to make a good blip. There was also a grey heron besotted with its own reflection, but I've never taken a picture of a Crested Grebe before so this had to be my blip.  I reckon this one is coming into its first winter as an adult form the look of its plumage, but I'm not an expert.

Having packed my longer lens away and started to trudge back to the car, I saw a male marsh harrier, really quite close.  It would certainly have been close enough for a really good blip if I had: (1) still got the camera out, and (2) managed to actually focus and take the shot (although I am reasonably confident I ought to have been able to manage the second part, although nothing is ever certain).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.