Marionb

By Marionb

Misty Morning....

....at the Marsh.

Not sure what motivated me this morning, but I was awake really early and felt the need to see a sunrise. It had been so easy in the summer at the cottage - just step out the door and there it was. But here in town, it means getting dressed to be seen in public, getting in the car and driving to the lakefront. But some mornings, I just get the urge to start my day with a sunrise and a walk by the water, and this was one of them.

The sunrise was not spectacular; there were no clouds for dramatic interest, but it was still inspiringly beautiful -  a wonderful brilliant orange and gold line across the horizon, broken by silhouettes of dead tree branches, ducks and a photographer who got the better position in front of me! 

Although there were some wonderful blip-ops, the morning light at times proved to be a challenge ... there was either too much or too little! The low angle light was so bright that it lit up the the reeds, shrubs, logs and even the woods on the far shore with a vibrant red - stunning, but it seemed quite garish when downloaded... a Northern Shoveler I really wanted to photograph was too darkly silhouetted against the bright water, but then, on my way out through the woods, the light was too dim on a deer who crossed the path!  Some of the sunrise photos were ruined by sunspot refections on my lens that retouching would not remove...but I still got some good shots that will remind me of my morning at the marsh and, of course,  there will be many more mornings to try again! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.