The Untrained Eye

By untrainedeye

Today is Remembrance Day

I woke up this morning and told Google to turn on the radio to listen to the News. The first item was based on Remembrance Day and  the role of the Poppy and its ability to survive on the devastation of the battlefields of the First World War. 

The poem 'In Flanders Fields' commemorates the death of a soldier whose burial was conducted by his friend and Medic, Major John McCrae who following this service wrote this simple and beautiful poem, his first and maybe only poem I believe. He also died in 1918.

I've attached the poem as an extra which I hope doesn't infringe copywrite but features the poppy and the men who died for others.

I scoured my photo library for a suitable picture and found this so I've edited it today to keep in the spirit of Blip rules...hopefully.
Also Poppys are out of season so there's another giveaway!
And I used a version of it earlier in the year and noted by Annie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.