More Yorkshire Art

A short hop to the Hepworth. After yesterday’s meanderings, and having recently watched the Hepworth Documentary on TV, I wasn’t sure there would be much that I would enjoy. Very wrong. Just shows you, eh? Art galleries: the Cathedrals for our age and all that. 
So, back North. Here’s something I didn’t enjoy. Stopped for diesel near Newcastle on the A1. Half way through filling the tank I looked at the price on the pump. 169.9p !!!! I kid you not. Given that I’d filled up a few days beforehand at 20p less than that I was seriously worried that I’d missed some horrendous world energy crisis in the news. I asked the woman in the kiosk when the prices had gone up. She didn’t know. Baffled I returned home and Googled on my way to the DigDogs. Apparently that station is well known (though previously not by me) as the most expensive in the UK. Bloody BP and Moto Services! Not like it’s Jimmy’s Garage on Barra or somewhere. Bloody robbers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.