Cailleach

By Cailleach

Cloud and clear....

I had stopped in front of a jeweller's window, to pull up my right sock (not pertinent to the story, but I like you to know everything) when this wild looking woman grabbed my hand.

'Let me tell your fortune.' she said. 'You are a very lucky and beautiful lady.' (Note to all you potential soothsayers out there - don't start your pitch with an enormous lie: it just creates immediate cynicism in the mind of your potential victim client.)........

'You have a wonderful husband,' she said confidently.

'Nope.' I replied, equally confidently. 'I don't.'

'Ah, I see you had a husband.' she tried.

'Nope,' I said. 'I didn't.'

'You have one child.' she said, giving up with the husband approach.

'No, I......'

'Well you're going to have three of the little buggers.' she snapped, and stomped off to find a more amenable customer.

Three children at the age of 48! It's a miracle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.