Read all about it

My eye was caught by this man standing out in the road, totally absorbed, reading his paper - he must have been missing either the news or his language very badly to be so oblivious.

This was rather calmer than the goings-on elsewhere in the centre of Oxford this morning: police cars and an ambulance in the High Street and police tape across a couple of the covered market entrances. Coming in another entrance I saw light glistening on the smashed security glass of the jeweller's window, a motorbike on its side, and police guarding the crime scene.

When it was my turn to read the news several hours later I discovered that one of the two robbers had abandoned the getaway bike and fled on a bus. The other, who had been tackled by passers-by, was fighting for his life in hospital after a heart attack. I do hope his assailant won't be deemed responsible for causing it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.