A male great spotted woodpecker pays a visit

I was delighted to see this great spotted woodpecker perched on the sunflower seed feeder on the patio down below my window. I'd just got out of the bath at 7-30am and the light of another overcast day didn't seem conducive to a good photo. But I reached for my camera and managed to open my study window without scaring it off. That happened when a bluetit had the temerity to land on one of the other  perches and within seconds they both flew away.

I carried on getting ready to go to market and on gazing out once again I saw the woody had returned for another session. In fact it was now closer to the camera and less obscured.  A minute later and it flew off again and I resumed the more mundane aspects of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.