Capitalism and health care

We're having an "atmospheric river" (so lush, everything wet and shiny), and the children don't come to me till 5 p.m. today, so I got my knee shot this morning. My health insurance wouldn't approve the painless gel version of hyaluronic acid for my arthritic right knee. Instead they approved a cheaper version, and it was mind-blowingly painful. Capitalism and health care are a bad mix, in my opinion, though the knee doc says the pain should wear off in an hour or two.

The kids and I have been having a glorious time. Their dad is working out of town, and their mom is costuming Mean Girls. Last night we played "the floor is lava," meaning we create a complicated pathway of pillows all around my apartment and leap from one to the other and over and through the furniture. Today they're at home with their mom till show time, but on the weekend she'll have matinees and night shows, so they'll be with me from 11 a.m. till 11 p.m. The atmospheric river is supposed to let up on Saturday, so maybe we can get out of the apartment for a while tomorrow.
 
Update: prediction was accurate--knee feels fine now. Acupuncture also helped. Thanks for the solidarity. Children will be arriving soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.