If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Hexham Moot Hall

A very early start, I picked Kanyl up at 6:00 am and we set off for Hexham Hospital to be there for him to be admitted at 7:30.  A trouble-free run over and I handed him on to the tender care of the NHS.

Then it was off to Screwfix to buy things for Katkatkat to be delivered when I go up next.  The nurse had told me the operation would take about 2 hours so I decided against driving out to Allan Banks and the Staward Gorge.  Instead, I decided to have a wander round Hexham and a bit of reading in the car.  As the two hours approached I returned to the hospital car park and was barely settled before the phone rang and they said he was ready to collect.

The blip is of the Moot Hall or what is left of the complex it was part of.  The hall is the gatehouse of what was the Archbishops of York's hall.  They were Lords of the Manor of Hexham for 500 years.  Because the late medieval period was rather disruptive on the borders it was heavily fortified.  The view is taken from near "The old Goal" which going by the artist's impressions of what things were like back then was part of the same complex.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.