Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Momentary gleams

On a day largely defined by the amount of rain that fell, a few bright moments. The first came during an appointment that seemed to me to be the antithesis of all the negativity about GP surgeries that is flying around just now (and I was interested to hear Alastair Campbell say on BBCQT last night that he thinks much of it is politically motivated). I had rung the surgery yesterday at mid-morning to ask for a phone consultation (I didn't think my strangely numb toes constituted a crisis, worrying though I found them) and wasn't unduly perturbed that nothing happened yesterday. However, I was still at breakfast when a call came through, and after a few questions I was told to come down to the surgery in two hours. I sat in the waiting room for a couple of minutes before I was called. The best bit came after a series of physical (ie hands-on) tests of strength involving pushing legs and feet against resistance - I was childishly pleased to be told that I was really strong, had a high power score not just for a little old lady (my question) but for anyone. All this walking clearly pays off in some areas...Back next week for a circulation test. I told my doctor (cheeringly dressed in a pink shirt with great cufflinks and a colourful waistcoat) that I loved him ... He looked slightly startled, as we've only met a couple of times before. Ah well.

I came home to find Himself discussing Advent and Christmas with The Boss, as he calls the incumbent of Holy Trinity Dunoon. We had coffee - and I probably totally disrupted their business - and suddenly, though it didn't seem to stop raining, the sun came out and transformed everything. That's when I took the photo, from my "I'm not really at this meeting" chair in the far corner of the room - I rather like it. 

Before any of this, I'd got up early specially to do some proof-reading for my #2 son's business - the kind of technical papers that give you a headache, with acronyms galore in quite a small font. 80 pages of it. Funny thing was, I had undertaken the task at teatime yesterday, and had actually gone to bed at a sensible time so that I could get it done before 10.30am, and found that being at my desk at 9am made me feel quite enlivened. I must try it again some time.

I went a walk with my pal in the afternoon - it's been ages since we've had a chance, what with colds and Covid and vaccination boosters. It was already almost 4pm when we started, but as we were in Benmore Gardens we were in no danger of being run over by anything more than a deer. By the time we were coming down from the Andean refuge on the hill we could barely see where we were putting our feet, but the rain had stopped. As we approached the tall trees on our way out, the moon appeared - another momentary gleam. 

After all that, I've spent the evening sleeping irresistibly in front of the telly. But will I still be sleepy when I get to bed?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.