Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

All is calm....

Today was my college reunion. We have one every year but obviously missed last year's. My college closed in 1982, so by now I would say that 95% of us have retired. Those of us who attend the reunion do so faithfully though and its always good to catch up. There is rarely anyone from my year there for some reason. My younger sister Freddie, who died in 2009 followed me through, she started the year after I graduated. Her year is well represented as is the year above, so I tag onto their group. We still have one lecturer who attends too.
I wasn't home long before it was time to head round to Ali's. They were going out for a meal and I was being trusted with their precious baby. She made a bit of a fuss at first but then, once I had worked out which cry meant "feed me" and which "change me", she settled well much to my relief. I wanted Ali to feel confident that I could manage ok. What a responsibility though! She's sleeping in the 'baby box' which is given to all new borns in Scotland and is filled with useful things (yes, unlike the free samples of odds and ends we used to get, they are actually useful) As well as the box bed, they are full to the brim and include clothing, thermometers, bedding and changing materials. The idea is that no new born in Scotland should have to do without the essentials.

Today's extra is of the refinery at Grangemouth, taken by day, but I used to see it by night from my room in the Halls of Residence. It always looked like something from outer space with its wonderful coloured lights and flares. I rather liked it.
Keep safe folks our numbers seem to be behaving with most importantly hospital and ICU numbers coming down gradually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.