Marionb

By Marionb

It's Beginning....

..to look a lot like Christmas...

A November Saturday morning...December still a long way off... not really cold, no snow falling...but as much as I tried, I could not quash that Christmas feeling...Not sure why...Perhaps it was because I was looking for something under the basement stairs this morning and had to move some boxes of Christmas decorations to get what I wanted?  

Once the boxes were out, the temptation to open them was just too much...I  could not help myself...I unpacked everything except the tree decorations..and the table linens...I had to draw the line somewhere.... 

I promised myself I would not put up any of the decor items I released from their boxes, but would just set them out ready to put up when the time came.. I did pretty well with that - with only one or two slips in self-control.....hence, one item made it to the dining room and two to the rec room.  Hardly noticeable though..they do not scream "Christmas!" They just blend in nicely with what's left of the gourds and pumpkins...

And then, to add to this madness ...  I have a friend from Nova Scotia dropping in next week for coffee on her way through the area en route to a wedding and unfortunately I will not see her again for months and months. I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to give her her Christmas gift...Mailing gifts is such a pain - nothing heavy, nothing breakable, nothing nicely wrapped with embellishments...so this would be the perfect solution. 

Problem was, I did not have her gift ready...I am not yet comfortable going to shopping malls and large stores, so instead, I dashed over to the little gift shop at the Lynde House Museum which is just around the corner from me, to see what they had on offer..and I lucked out...I was able to buy my first Christmas gift of the season! And it is only November... This never happens .... not sure what got into me.....but it feels good!  

Now, to find the Christmas wrapping paper and ribbons...if I can remember where I stored them!

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.