An Array

Flags galore in front of the war memorial in Bridport.  I volunteered to be present and take photos for the Town Council as a member of the Bridport Camera Club and it was great fun.  I met a couple more of the club members as well as a fellow blipper, timmynomates; he was busy as well, helping out a local reporter.  I didn't find very good vantage points this time, but I'll be better prepared for next year's parade.

In the Extra, the war memorial.  And in case anyone was wondering, this wasn't about glorifying war, but about remembering those who died defending freedom.  I think that most sensible people agree that war is horrible, and the first reading was of a poem by Siefried Sassoon, "Aftermath".  I had not realised that Sassoon became a pacifist after his experience in the trenches (marked by acts of bravery/madness, it appears); this poem is a rail against war.  I had thought that Sassoon went to my school, Downside Abbey in Somerset, as he was much discussed at times in English lessons.  But he was educated at Marlborough and then played cricket for a Downside team later, according to his Wikipedia entry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.