Poppy Wreaths

After several years of attending the Remembrance Day Service in town, I thought I'd watch the service at the Cenotaph this morning on tv. Worrying that the Queen was not well enough to attend. This afternoon I walked into town and took some photos of the wreaths on the memorial, paid my respects and read some of the messages - nice to see others doing the same. I had a sort out of summer and winter tops - I've got far too many and have sorted some for the charity shop, but when you've got the space......

So, agreement was reached on a diluted statement for COP26. From what I've heard COP26 does take us forward materially and I was pleased to see the measures for revision of promises and reporting measures annually (you get what you measure) and promises being made narrower and more specific. However the consensus is that it's not nearly enough yet to restrict damage to 1.5C, although that goal is not completely dead. From what I saw, those heavily involved in the COPs over the years, said it had been well led by the UK, and particularly Alok Sharma did a good job as President. 

Day 608 / Day 119 of Step 4 of Roadmap Easing (for my record only)
New cases are up 6% in the last week. 1m 12-15 year olds in England have now been vaccinated. I was very concerned to read of a 'reported' plan called Rampdown to be enacted next year, whereby the Govt will remove the legal requirement for those with Covid to self-isolate for ten days; allow private companies to charge for lateral flow tests and PCR tests; and shut down Test & Trace. Surely if true, that's at least a year too early for these changes. HarperCollins has vehemently denied they have any knowledge of a book by Matt Hancock about the pandemic, but a spokesman for MH said there was 'no deal' signed (not mentioning a publisher). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.