Remembrance parade

This was taken after the service at the Cenotaph and the veterans parade. Must have been the usual 10,000 or so in the parade, Horse Guards Parade was packed.
In case you are wondering, and don't already know, why we have RAF Cap Badges and Sand coloured berets, instead of the RAF Grey/Blue.
We are an Oman veterans group, RAF Masirah and RAF Salalah Veterans Association.
I went over to the Military Police gang a few times but couldn't find Terri of Terrifo Blip fame.
A wonderful parade, as always, with tens of thousands lining the route along Whitehall and Birdcage Walk. Topped when I made Prince William laugh by shouting to him "Tell your Dad happy birthday from us"!
The smiling chap to my left is Ted (Sqn Ldr Hamilton). We served together at RAF Seletar, Singapore, 1969/70.

Had to change the photo again because I realised it looked like my Fathers medals were on my left breast. Left is for your own medals, right for someone else's, relative etc.
The fact that I saved the world from a Nuclear Holocaust, when I was stationed at HQ Bomber Command 1966-68, still doesn't warrant a medal during the Cold War!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.