At the Remembrance Parade

This morning I went to the Remembrance Sunday parade which ended at the Memorial Gates at Cae Glas Park for the ceremony.  We go every year as a mark of respect for my uncle that was killed when his Lancaster crashed and for a relative of F who was killed when HMS Hood sank.  

I always used to go to the Remembrance service with my grandad and brother when I was young.  My mum and nan could never face it.  Grandad lived near the cenotaph in the village where my uncle's name is recorded. One year after Nan had died we were at the outdoor service when plumes of smoke came over us - his chimney had set on fire! Luckily there was no damage apart from the smoke.

Remembrance Day in Oswestry is always a big event with all the local organisations laying wreaths and there's a long parade led by the brilliant Porth-Y Waen brass band.  There is usually a service in St. Oswald's church afterwards but that didn't happen this year which was sensible as it's always packed with people.

Afterwards F and I went for a walk around a route  that we discovered during lockdown as it was a lovely sunny day.

When I got home I was going to pop into the church to photograph the cascade of poppies but unfortunately it was locked up.  The poppies are there for a fortnight so I'll blip it later. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.