Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Evening sunshine on the back deck. A really lovely day, 76ºF, amazing weather for the end of March. I wonder how long it will last.

I spent a lot of the day shifting things around, then cleaning, sorting, and making new piles to go to Goodwill. I ordered a new fridge on Friday. On Wednesday the salesman at the showroom said it could be 6-7 weeks until delivery, on Friday when I placed the order he said well, it could be this coming Thursday, if not this Thursday then the following Thursday. Okaaaay.

With this uncertainty in mind I figured it would be best to be prepared. I cleared off the top of the fridge, dismantled some cabinetry, wiggled the fridge out of it its spot so I could clean behind and underneath. I wasn't sure what I'd find as the fridge was included with house when we bought it and somewhat built in... thankfully nothing too scary, there was some gunk on the floor which mopped up easily but most interesting were the layers of wall coverings on the wall behind, plaster with some fabric involved, then a section of ancient wall paper, this all on top of the lath and plaster. It also meant I could get a good look at the cabinetry set up for when we're ready to tackle more building work in the kitchen, which is not any time soon.

The fridge is now back in place and ready for whenever its replacement gets here! I am pooped, no cooking for me tonight, supper will be at the newest sushi joint that's just recently opened in the neighborhood.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.