simisue

By simisue

DRAGON'S BLOOD TREE: Dracaena draco

While visiting my son & his family this past weekend, he pointed out
this exotic tree while we were walking through the grounds of my hotel.  
He is a huge fan of exotic drought tolerant plants, &  told me this is
a DRAGON'S BLOOD TREE, which gets its name from the red sap it bleeds when cut.

I took this photo & did a little research today when I arrived home. 
Apparently, it is a long lived subtropical tree native to the Canary Islands
& Morocco.  Amazing as it seems, this tree that can grow to 49ft. (15m) is in the same family as Asparagus.  It is widely cultivated in parks & drought tolerant gardens.  It has earned The Royal Horticultural Society Award of Garden Merit.

I came home with several plants, including a Vanilla Bean Orchid, but alas, 
no Dragon's Blood Tree.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.