Biscuits

I overslept. It is a VERY rare event that I am not awake and out of bed by 6am. I mostly wake between 4.30 and 5 and spend some time, like today, thinking about the previous day, choosing my blip and preparing for the day to come.

I had a mix of alcoholic drinks but nothing too diverse and not a huge amount and I was not particularly late going to bed but when I opened my eyes it was 7.02

That was not ideal as I had arranged to meet my friend Jo for a run at the Prom Park at 7.30 and the park is a ten minute drive away. All non essential activity was out of the question and I made it with 5 minutes to spare, even beating Jo and her husband Henry who likes to walk while we are there.

We bumped into Elaine not long after we started and she joined us for a while before heading off on a longer training run, ahead of a race next Sunday. After we had finished we were volunteering at junior parkrun. I was timekeeper with one of the DOE volunteers and Jo was on tokens. In my plan to Co opt Jo into our 5K core team do that we have more RDs, I have persuaded her to timekeep with me there next week.

There were 49 finishers, all in under 20 minutes so we were quickly done and headed to the Lakeside cafe which reopened this week, following the sudden death of one of the owners, and joined by Henry and Jim who had been marshalling the event.

We were sure to be away from the park by 10 as there were various road closures for remembrance events but my father was not do astute and got caught up in the local traffic when he popped into Lidl to replenish his biscuit supplies.

He arrived at mine with a big bag of clothes I had left there for when I stop over, saying that he needed the space back. I'm not sure how or why he needs it as he has alot of space but I am not going to argue with him.

He had also found my mums keys. We spent a lot of time looking for them in the months after she died. They were in a rarely used bowl inside a rarely accessed kitchen cupboard. Mum had a habit of stashing things in unusual places like that so it wasn't a huge surprise that they turned up there. We knew that they would reappear at some point.

He arrived just as we were leaving home to visit him and as we were already in the car, we followed him home. My picture is of him showing us the 7 packets of biscuits he has 'limited' himself to for the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.