A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Mono Monday 408 :: MM408 :: Motion

...sickness?

My late father-in-law's metal travel chest as used in the late 1950's to travel out to Nigeria. I gather the journey wasn't all plain sailing but he did win the onboard table tennis competition. 

He couldn't boast his National Service in the Royal Navy helped any. He spent the first 18 months learning Russian and the remaining 6 months eavesdropping on our 'cold' neighbours. Apart from his stay at Chatham Dock Yard I don't think he saw a ship! 

Until more recently I suffered terrible sea sickness. It all started with a 24 hour trip to Denmark and back on a £10 special when I was about 16. The North Sea was so rough I think there were few who didn't find a solid wall or corner to lean up against. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.