Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Late in the Day

Up promptly, for us, and down town so TM could have his booster jab. I'm glad he had an early appointment, as a queue seemed to be building by the time he came out. He feels fine, no reaction so far.

We had a pleasant stroll down to the Townfoot Bridge and watched a heron poised on a branch high above the river. He sat there for ages, too far away for a decent shot. I was hoping to get one of him in flight, but he just sat there. Eventually I gave up.

Much later, we headed out for a walk on the St Cuthbert's Way, and when we drove by the bridge, the heron was still perched on that same branch.   We didn't stop  as it was getting rather late.

The sun was  low, but very bright, by the time we got up onto the higher ground. The woodlands up there are lovely, a mixture of oak and beech and there are long views to the north-east.

When we got back I returned to making the Christmas cake, which I'd left  half assembled. Only when it was going into the oven did it dawn on me that it will be 2am before it comes out. Just as well I'm a night owl :-)
 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.