Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

I've got so many projects going right now... I'm knitting a doll to our youngest little girl, for a Christmas present. The doll comes with red knickers and socks, and I'll also knitt a red dress for her. So, I've started with the knickers because I had suitable yarn at home. Fingers crossed it'll be enough for the socks too. Then I started a scarf, crocheting it in a soft cake yarn that has a silver tread in the yearn too. That glitters in the light, so... perhaps it will function kind of like a reflex. Then I started this crochet. The one on the left is my inspiration. One of my grandmothers' small crochets to place between plates on the table. At first I thought I make one just like it, but some of the pattern I can't figure out how to crochet, so... it'll be inspired by instead. And, I folded papers for signatures in my calendar. I'm making my own and the crochet is part of the fabric cover. 
Then I have the 'door journal' to finish, and the garden journal... Too many projects going on right now. 

I've been thinking a lot lately, on the coworker at my first proper work, that taught me to crochet. I worked as a switchboard operator at a hospital, and during the evening shift, we made some handicraft. She was my teacher when I started working. Such a sweet and kind lady, gone now, sadly. But I found the ball of cotton yarn and the crochet hook she gave me, all those years ago (30 years, or so), and that is what I'm using now as part of the cover for my calendar. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.