Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Russian Yak3 High Performance 2nd WW Fighter.

Yesterday was much the best day for attending the Classic Fighters Air Show at Omaka near Blenheim. There were ominous clouds in the north-west when I took the dogs out before dawn this morning. The clouds turned pink and red heralding the old saying "Red Sky in the Morning - Shepherd's Warning". All too true as the rain came down quite heavily before I got back to the vehicle.
We had quite heavy rain at times during the morning. There is 3 mm in our rain gauge. At least there was no wind to speak of and it was warm. But it must have been very disappointing for the Air Show organisers.
The weather cleared after lunch so I packed up the camera gear and headed off to the Taylor River reserve around 1.30pm.
There is a large elevated area, which I call the Mound, right under the flight path into the Omaka Airfield. It proved a splendid viewpoint
There I met up with two of our Camera Club members, one of them with an enormous video set-up.
But alas, the weather turned sour quite quickly as more rain came in from the nor-west.
I managed to capture a modest number of shots before I gave up on the exercise and trudged back along the tracks to the vehicle and went off home.
John, my twin brother, has been through today's images with me and helped me with identifying various planes and then selecting today's blip.
The fighter plane depicted here is a Russian Yak 3. It is a high performance WWII fighter. It is equivalent in performance to the British Spitfire Mark 9 or the German ME 109 E. I am grateful to John for his help in identifying the various planes that were performing today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.