Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Red Kite

Today I went to a different part of the Brecon Beacons over in the Black Mountains, and I visited a Red Kite Feeding Station. I spent a magical 2 hours here watching the Kites. I was amazed at how many Kites came for the feeding, there must have been at least 50, possible more, they were everywhere you looked. I was really struck by the noise that they made, it was a very long whistling noise, almost like somebody whistling for their dog.

Once the bait had been laid out the birds started gathering and circling around, before finally one bird swooped down and took a bit of meat, and that signalled the feeding frenzy, the birds started circling and decending in a tight cone before swooping and grabbing the meat.

I was lucky that the sun came out and lit this bird up

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.