Snap, crackle, and pop

By marking_time

Being That Brit

Not sure what's got into me but in recent weeks I have been craving a nice cuppa.

I gave up drinking tea when we came to live here. It was partly the challenge of finding fresh milk. I can't stand UHT and found fresh milk hard to find in local supermarkets. I now know where to look and what I am looking for...

But my preferred brew is made with skimmed fresh milk (and only a tiny splash of that) which still eludes me here. I settled for semi-skimmed, even though I know that my cuppa won't be as refreshing as I like.

My main issue though was our horrible water supply. My tea had a horrible slick of scum on top. Very unappealing. Just did not wish to drink that.

We now have an inline water filter fitted to our supply and we pass drinking water through a Brita jug on top of that.

So far, so good.

Needed actual tea.

Yesterday's supermarket offered a small selection of British goods on the aisle-end unit. They had three kinds of tea: Typhoo (not for me), Yorkshire Tea (not my preference, I'm a Tetley girl, but it will do), and Yorkshire Gold (new to me).

The Yorkshire Tea needed a second mortgage... it was nearly SIX Euros. I wasn't craving a cup of tea quite that badly. Also it was an 80 pack and after three and a half years on coffee, I doubted that I would get through them whilst they remained drinkable.

I plumped for the Gold, relatively more expensive but a smaller outlay and a manageable size.

I've just realised that I may have got rid of my teapot. Over and out, I need to search the China cupboard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.