TrevorKing66

By TrevorKing66

New camera

After passing the Apollo Theatre (see yesterday) we stopped of at Gorton market, we have never been before so we thought it was worth a look. Outside there were some stalls selling secondhand items but we carried on past and in to the inside for a mooch around to warm up a little, however on the way back to the car I spotted a brown carry case. It was familiar to me because I have one like it at home but a little bit bigger which houses a Box Brownie camera that my dad had given me. I took a closer look and asked out of interest "How much" the reply £2.00 "I will take it".
A bit of research on the internet and I have gathered the following information.

It was introduced: 1946 and discontinued in 1957.
The film size is 620 roll film.
Picture size: 2 1/4 X 3 1/4"
Manufactured: UK
Lens: Meniscus f/11, 100mm
Shutter: Single blade
It has a Morocco-grained imitation leather covered metal body; with two view finders.Plastic wind knob and release button; triangular spring
back catch.

The top strap was missing and there is a dent in the outer casing but it cleaned up quite well. The inside and shutter are in good condition.
Looking through the view finder I could not help but imagine what views have been seen through these pieces of glass. It will not make me a fortune but then again I did not buy it with the aim to sell. It may just start me off collecting old cameras (to my wifes disgust!) but for £2 I am sure it will bring me lots of pleasure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.