First Gaza, then strip

This morning I jumped on a chapa heading north from Maputo. At the main transit point in Maputo the driver is required to fill in a passenger manifest, listing the names and details of each person, which will be checked by police at various points. It’s pointlessly draconian and unworkable given the very nature of chapa travel is to constantly set down and pick up passengers whenever anyone bangs on the roof or throws an arm out from the roadside.

At Xai-Xai, the orderly capital of Gaza Province, I changed buses. I was heading for Chidenguele, a small town nestled at one end of Lake Inhampavala. A few lodges occupy the narrow strip of land between the lake and the coast, and this strip was my destination.

I settled into a relaxing spot with a comfortable static tent. I was shattered so ordered dinner at 5pm. There was an interesting juice presented, which, according to the waiter, used the fruit of the monkey orange tree (the name was massala, related to mango, he added). After this new taste sensation I went to bed at 7pm, surrounded by the sounds of the countryside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.