Lone ranger

Today is my 39th birthday. I had an enjoyable breakfast and then took a bus back to the capital, which took several hours. To me it wasn’t a bad way of spending a birthday, with lots of thinking time and observing the world go by. My sister said that she and I both enjoy being lone rangers, and she is correct.

I realised after about two hours that there was a chicken under my seat. James Blunt was the driver’s soundtrack of choice, and later James was again playing on the shorter bus ride between the main Maputo bus station, and home. I enjoyed munching on both crunchy cashew nuts purchased through the bus window from the coastal belt of southern Mozambique, and the birthday pastel de nata treat from a bakery in Maputo; a more crispy example of the ones I usually find here.

Back at home I spoke to the family and then received two excellent pieces of well-timed news: Berry and Helen’s new baby was born today, and I received the contract to sign for my new job (which needs to be corrected due to a couple of errors, but in theory is very good news).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.