Autumn colours

Its my birthday today and I have had a lovely but busy day.  The day started fairly sunny and I took our grandson to Bicton Park where he enjoys looking at the wildlife in the small stream.  Unfortunately there were no water boatmen in the water but he amused himself throwing twigs and leaves into the water.  We next watched a large group of ducks and swans bickering with each other over food in another area.  He wasn't much interested in the play area so we went for a walk alongside the small rail track.  Here I spotted this impressive chestnut tree with golden leaves on the branches behind.  I took these photos while Lucas ate a biscuit.  We then headed back vis the museum of old tractors and farm machinery.

In the afternoon I left my husband to babysit while I went to our book club.  I decided to make some cakes the night before in celebration which we all enjoyed.  Our discussion of the book Paris Echo by Sebastian Faulks was very lively with many of us not quite appreciating the depth of the novel on a first read.  It was the first time for a very long time that all of us had been present.

Once our grandson was asleep I opened my cards and present to celebrate my 'special' birthday.  I have received a number of very thoughtful present and cards which I very much appreciate.  Its been a lovely birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.