Castle Clanger

I took Clanger along to the National Museum of Scotland today, as part of the Edinburgh Science Festival I'd seen they had a giant balloon sculpture which I thought would make a good Blip, there is actually lots of exhibits scattered around for the science festival and it was pretty busy, I should have predicted that, it being a Saturday bank holiday weekend, there were a lot of parents and kids there. There's lots of interesting stuff for kids to interact with, well worth a visit.

What had not occurred to me was how difficult it would be to get decent pictures with Clanger. He is pretty small so I wanted him fairly close to the camera but a lot of the pictures I took had the main subject fairly far away. This caused the problem of how to keep both in focus. The best example of this was when I went up to the rooftop. The lift wasn't working so I had to take the stairs :-( which at least stopped parents with pushchairs going up and other people who didn't know where the stairs are! (It is a bit of a maze)

Anyway, increasing the F-Stop on the camera increases the depth of field in a camera. I'm not exactly sure why but by increasing the F-Stop you decrease the aperture size which for some reason increases the depth of filed (focus). As you can see from this picture I almost got both Clanger and the Castle in sharp(ish) focus. Of course, increasing the F-Stop, reduces the aperture size and thus the amount of light so I also had to increase the ISO setting (I also increased the exposure time slightly). I will need more practice but this photo came out reasonably.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.