better than what I wanted

Fire Glow is even better than what I wanted. 

It is more beautiful than the trees I was looking for. 

The current height is fantastic and it will probably get taller than I originally wanted - but today I realized that one day this will mean I can sit on the deck and gaze directly at it. Karen can already see the top of it while in the kitchen on our main floor (we live in a townhouse). 

The sun shines through these bright red leaves and colors the grey brick wall. Really.

I walk past the sliding glass door to get to my desk and every time I'm stunned to see it. I came in through the garage door, which is directly opposite the sliding glass door, and gasped because it was so beautiful and I wasn't expecting it. 

I look up from my computer screen and smile.

This is a tiny, newly fallen red leaf from Fire Glow, next to a yellow leaf from the large maple arching over my yard, and a Marginal Wood Fern. I had to remove four plants so they could put in Fire Glow and then replant them next to the berm. This fern is one of them. I'm confident they'll be fine. 

Thank you for celebrating my glorious new tree with me, and really everything about my fabulous new garden. It is enormous fun to share with you. Massive thanks to Kate (and my employer who pays me) for making this all possible. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.