Istanbul itinery

Quiet morning, I took the mid day ferry on this very gloomy, cold day from Arnavutkoy to Besiktas (first photo) where I went to what used to be one of my fav places for brunch but I'm sorry to say the prices have significantly increased while the food quality seems to have decreased since I last ate there (before the pandemic). Still, I took some photos from the terrace (second photo).  From there I had a lot of faffing around and time wasting trying to figure out the departure stop for a bus to Bomonti, and it was gone 15.00 before I arrived at my destination, though the journey, once I'd got it worked out, was very quick and easy. I wandered around for more than an hour (third photo) - looking for local grocery stores and other amenities that would make living there easy. Some good finds, several local 'express' style markets, but an absence of cafes or bars in the immediate vicinity. Did find 'Souper' (fourth photo) where I had a lovely mid afternoon snack of homemade soup - and less than 5 minute walk from the flat that I am interested in.   A bit more wandering around (fifth photo) before taking the bus back to Besiktas, going past Dolmabahce Palace (sixth photo). Home to Sultans and Ataturk. Finally, I relaxed and ruminated with a pint of Bomonti Filtresiz at Joker 19 (seventh photo), still one of my fav bars, before taking the 18.00 ferry back to Arnavutkoy for a quiet evening at home, that included a load of washing!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.