randomgirl

By randomgirl

Climbing and exploring

My two youngest daughters came on a walk with me where I showed them a path they'd never been on before. It leads uphill to a pretty bit of forest and goes past an interesting old ruined cottage (see extras). There are some interesting remains of household objects/furniture lying around within the ruin that the girls both noticed. I was surprised I hadn't even got up close and seen them the previous two times I'd walked past.

My 16 year old also found something to climb! (Although it didn't look safe enough to go any higher than you see her in the photo) We were wondering what the structure had been built for.

As is the case with my husband, I probably don't go on walks enough with my daughters either. It can be difficult to entice the girls out and I have to suggest something a bit different for them to consider it worth their while. But it seemed like we all really enjoyed that short walk. I particularly enjoyed it, I think not just because it was good to share these places with them, but because it meant I got to see them being young at heart again while they explored their surroundings.

I just added one more extra, to show how far ahead of us my youngest daughter was walking a lot of the time lol ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.