On the edge

Thirteen years ago I was in Albania doing some training with local youth groups there. During the visit we went to a gypsy camp and met this little boy who tried to sell me a bird he had caught. That's how he got by.
Gypsys are marginalised in the country and gypsy children are on the outer edge of society there.
My heart bled.
Why do we trade in such practices?
We all need to work to address inequalities.

Thirteen years ago I was in Albania doing some training with local youth groups there. During the visit we went to a gypsy camp and met this little boy who tried to sell me a bird he had caught. That's how he got by.
Gypsys are marginalised in the country and gypsy children are on the outer edge of society there.
My heart bled.
Why do we trade in such practices?
We all need to work to address inequalities.
"Bury me on my feet, I have spent my entire life on my knees."
(Gypsy Proverb)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.