Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Skimming

I am pretty sure (lets say 99% sure) that this is a young Blue Skimmer dragonfly, probably a female.  The markings on the abdomen, eyes and wings have led me to that conclusion.   There have been adult blue skimmers visiting yesterday which are easy to identify because of their blue abdomens.  I have put another of it up in the extra which helped with the ID but I had others of it's abdomen looking down which showed it's pattern better than this front or side view.

We went to Horseshoe beach today but being a lovely day it was still pretty busy.  Hamish absolutely loves it there but I worry he will overdo it.   Swimming  is good for his arthritis but he thinks he can run after a stick which is not so good.  Silly old fellow.

I believe there is going to be a partial eclipse of the full moon tomorrow.  Rain is forecast......need I say any more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.