Flash Pump

By FlashPump

Aonach Eagach

I grew up in south east England. I first visited Scotland at the age of twelve when my Mum brought me north on a short holiday. One of the most vivid images that still that I can remember was driving through Glen Coe, staring up a the massive imposing wall of rock that fortify the northern extent. It was raining hard, and I stared at waterfalls tumbling down to the glens floor. It was like a fantasy world.

Ten years later and I was living in Scotland, studying at Edinburgh University. Our School had an annual conference in the Highlands, which in my first year it was held in Ballachulish. This was the first time I'd been back to Glen Coe. Lots of my new colleagues were hill walkers or climbers and I remember someone mentioning the Aonach Eagach, exposed airy traverse of the glens north ridge. Remembering my earlier tastes of climbing on school or scout trips, I could never imagine myself doing. Despite this, when someone offered to taking me climbing I jumped at the chance. As we drove home I looked up once again at the imposing ridge.

That was almost exactly nine years ago. Today a friend Bob and I completed a winter traverse of the Aonach Eagach. I've climbed a lot in those nine years so if I'm truthful is was a lot easier than I built it up in my mind to be. Still a fantastic experience. Great day out. Glad to have finally done it. What's next on the wish list?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.