How I discovered Sgt Pepper

It was the summer of 1968, I was fourteen and had escaped from working on a farm in Fife. I’d cycled ten miles to Craigtoun Park outside of St Andrews. The park had a boating pond called ‘The Dutch Village,’ which you could sail round. Out of the blue, they started playing Sgt.P. I hadn't heard it before. They played it in its entirety.
‘Imagine yourself on a boat on a river.....’
I was looking at boats, on a kind of river, one that went round and round like a merry go round, ‘where plasticine porters with looking glass ties....’ When the fairground sound effects on Being for the Benefit of Mr Kite kicked in, it all made sense.  There were tangerine trees and marmalade skies, and I swear I saw a girl with kaleidoscope eyes. I wasn’t just listening to a record; I was inhaling it, on nothing stronger than Coca-Cola.
That's my memory, anyway.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.