Manvers Lake

I made up my mind to make a long overdue visit to Manvers lake today, next week is forecast to turn much colder and today was pleasant enough, could be my last opportunity for a while! A fifteen minute walk and going through the copse, I was showered in confetti of falling leaves, they have virtually all come down this week and the ground is covered...looks beautiful.
Started my walk, very enjoyable but got lost, and apparently missed a sharp right turn taking me around in a circular walk of about a mile. Instead, I walked on and on, almost to Old Moor until I saw a sign which lead me back, following the river Dearne, way behind the lake, eventually clocking up about three miles!!  Oh, my legs did ache at the unaccustomed excercise, but it was a lovely walk.  I can now say I have walked part of the Trans Pennine Trail !!  Found a couple of places to sit for five minutes, and take in the sights and sounds....even saw some black cows! Autumn is certainly a beautiful month in the countryside....a few extras if you are interested :)
I did go to W.I. last night, only half the people from last month but very enjoyable.... did some book folding (another Cmas tree), they are all going into the library......and made a new friend :)

Thanks very much for your lovely comments and stars x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.