Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Wisdom of Elders

We’ve been watching a series of 4 lectures given by the UW Retirement Association..all about healthy aging of course.. Today’s lecture was from an Alaska indigenous native doctor,( elder in training….he’s not yet 55)  who now lives in Seattle, with insights into the respect and connections given the elders in most of the indigenous cultures in this country.  And how this is not the norm in most of our communities.  Somehow it resonated with us…so non-medical and unscientific —and resulted in a good conversation between H and I about the role of the “elders “ in our families.  This at the same time I’m  trying to gather photos on a dark rainy afternoon for my yearly family calendars…I had already decided to include one of our parents with our kids , these 2 from 1968...…(there aren’t that many exciting family photos this continued year of covid and staying at home and too many health issues.)   Our boys did know them thru their mid- late teens but we were far apart in Seattle, Florida and Arizona.

I never knew my Mom’s parents and my Dad’s parents lived in New York when we were in Chicago.  But I dug one photo out from Christmas there in 1950 when I was 10 (the kid with the glasses).  It was very exotic for me to be there and listen to so much Swedish being spoken and gather some of our Christmas traditions and food, with my Dad’s family.  But it didn’t happen much.  They did have a family summer place on a lake where I LOVED all the wooden animals this grandfather made and placed around in his garden.  (garden art!)   HERE..(check out the dog on the bottom of the photo)   Herb’s Mother’s mother lived with them in their house and he has lots of stories of growing up with her into high school  and also regrets that he didn’t listen to her more.  I don’t have a photo her her that I can find.   (Do you, Tom?)
Sorry  too many words..I don’t want to make this longer but I sure could…there will be more to talk about.  I’d love to hear about family connections  from our kids or grandkids. 

The message I got from today’s talk was that the elders have a big responsibility to impart knowledge of the earth,  beliefs,  and wisdom for the younger members of the family by being an active part of the community , not by being isolated in homes with other elders.
Hummmm……

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.