helenann

By helenann

On the Road Again

Another busy day! After a session with the physio to treat my neck and shoulder aches I cycled into town to visit the  O2 shop, where I bit the bullet and upgraded my phone. The  worst part for me is crossing the threshold. Once  inside, I  roll over like a dog, and submit myself to the  young people who work there, allowing them to  decide what I need and agreeing to everything  they suggest. It is three, possibly four years, since I last changed my phone. I knew it had to be done as I had used up all the  memory (all 16GB) and couldn't install a vital app. Fortunately, they  found  me something  which is not too dissimilar to my old Samsung phone, but with 4 times as much memory. It "only" took a very  stressful hour,  once home, for my husband and me to transfer the  data  from the old phone to the new one. How I wish there  was a way of hiring a teenager/ twenty something,  at a moment 's notice, who could  pop in for a few minutes or an hour, to sort out tech issues, and then go away again. Still, I hope that particular  trauma, of changing phones, is now behind me for another  three years. 

Our big treat for the day was going to the Anvil at Basingstoke to enjoy  a concert by the Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain. My blip (first photo taken with new phone)shows my husband and our friends striding from the railway station, through the mall, to the concert hall.
It was a really great night  out.   One of the orchestra's most poignant and heartfelt  songs was their version of Willie Nelson's, On the Road Again. If you want an example of their versatility do watch You Don't Bring Me Flowers Any more more
       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.