Woman Walking

By njoyce06

Turtle Bite

Todays Blip is a combo.......   I got out for a quick bike ride, 30 minutes before sunset.   I stayed close to home because time was short,  the  temperature was 66 degrees, and there was a stiff breeze from the N/NW.  As the sun went down I saw this villa in the  direct setting sunlight.  I had to stop and enjoy for a few minutes.  By the time I got home, I was chilled.    Very unusual for Florida.
     The second photo is of Molly's muzzle.  When she was a puppy, she was incredibly inquisitive and had to be watched like a hawk.  One day she wandered a short ways  to a pond and started nosing around.   I heard her yelp.  I immediately looked to see her running as fast as she could towards me, with this black thing in her mouth and face.    It turned out to be a snapping turtle, pinching her upper lip.  The pointed part had missed flesh but the turtle did manage to peal all of the skin off in it's bite.   She started shaking her head violently.  As she did the turtle weight moved her all around.  As she shook her head, she wrapped the turtle against a fence post.  Fortunately the turtle let go and crawled away, but Molly had a deep laceration on her muzzle.  You can see a  divided white scar under her nose.   It's one of my many memories of Molly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.