Argaty (Kilbryde)

A wander round the abandoned church at Argaty today (extra), with main being a detail: the cross above the door.
I can't find anything about this church on the web, which is very peculiar, as there's usually an enthusiast who's done his thing. 
It's a small church, with small grounds, but a very strong sense of presence. It's on a hill and very near the Ardoch Burn, with signs of slippage in the ground above the river. 
A charming spot, I will be back; just wish I knew more about it. 
Edit: my goodly wife, a native of the parish, tells me this is Kilbryde, not Argaty. So, it seems to have been a church for the local squire at Kilbryde Castle. Built on the site of a former Catholic church. Some information exists on the web, but not much

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.